Cattlemen celebrate 70th anniversary with festival, meeting


ROBERTSDALE, Alabama — The Baldwin County Cattlemen’s Association celebrated its 70th anniversary on Saturday, Feb. 29, hosting the first Baldwin County Cattlemen’s Festival, followed by the Cattlemen’s and Cattlewomen’s associations annual meeting Saturday night at the Baldwin County Coliseum and Fairgrounds in Robertsdale.

The Festival included activities from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. including cow patty bingo, a petting zoo, Lil Britches Roping, face painting, horse rides, corn hole and bounce house.

Jon, the Balloon Guy was on hand for a limited time with all-day displays from the South Alabama Antique Tractor Club, Gear Jammers Car Club and the English Car Club.

Program activities for kids and adults included the stick horse race, musical chairs, boot scramble, princess contest, and the egg and spoon competition.

The event also featured live entertainment, food, crafts and business vendors. A representative from the 2020 U.S. Census was also available to answer questions.

Vendors were also on hand for the annual meeting on Saturday night, which included a steak dinner, catered by Street’s Restaurant of Bay Minette.

Officers and Board members were elected including a new Association President Zack Riggins. Other officers, which were elected to two-year terms, including Ronnie Koptis, vice president; Hunter Bemis, secretary; and John Lazzari Jr., treasurer.

Board members, who serve three-year terms, include Greg Kaiser, Ruthie Campbell, Milton Head, Britton Arnette, Derek Defilippi, Adam Glass, Jerod Riles, James Phillips, Tracey Thompson, Eugene Fernandes, Randy Hastings, Wes Moore, Larry Wilson, Matt Rolin and lifetime Board member George Campbell.

A special award was presented Saturday to Marjorie Ard on behalf of her husband, Richard Ard, who passed away in 2019, for his lifetime of service to the Cattlemen’s Association.

Cattlewomen’s Association 2018-19 President Diane Sopr also presented Woman of the Year honors to Barbara Lawson and Man of the Year honors to James Phillips.

The Baldwin County Cattlemen’s Association was organized Jan. 30, 1950 under the auspices of the Alabama Cattlemen’s Association and the National Livestock and Meat Board.

On May 18, 1992, the NLMB, through a promotional arm, “The Beef Industry Council,” launched the “Beef, It’s What’s For Dinner,” campaign, which is used by Cattlemen’s Associations nationwide to promote the beef industry.

In addition to the election of officers, the event included a silent auction, prize drawings and a cake auction.

Guest speakers for the event included Moley Herring, Michael Jordan and Dr. Soren Rodning of Auburn University.

Sponsors for the event included:

Platinum sponsors: Baldwin County Sewer Service LLC; Baldwin County Soil & Water.

Silver sponsor: JBT Power.

Bronze sponsors: D & D Dirt & Excavating, King Line Equipment, Starr Linens Services, Tractor Supply.

Copper sponsors: Alabama Ag Credit, Anipro/Xtraformance Feeds, Cambell Hardware & Supply, Charles Montz, D & D Mini Storage, Gulf Regional Livestock, Foley Bounce & Waterslides, My Team Cattle & Crop Insurance, Re/Max Paradise Bob Shallow, Sumner Ag Services.

Additional sponsors included Agro Max LLC, All in Hauling, Baldwin County Cattle & Fair Association, Baldwin EMC, Baldwin Feed & Seed, Carden & Associates Crop & Pasture Insurance Agency, Coca Cola, Bird Song Peanuts, Bo Bishop Alfa Insurance representative, Central Glass, Circle V Saddlery, Citizens’ Bank, Dr Albert Corte DVM, Charles W. Cooper & Co. Davison Fuel & Oil Inc., Elberta Farmer’s Co-op Floyd Enfinger Jr. PC, First South Farm Credit, Frisco City Livestock, The Grocery Store of Elberta, Gulf Coast Equine Hospital, Gulf Shores Angus, Gulf Shores Condos, Lazzari Truck Repair, Loxley Auto Parts, Mack Funeral Home, Middleton Auto Parts, Nutrien Ag Solutions, Oak Hollow Farms, Pen Air Federal Credit Union, Pink Tulip Designs, Racine’s Feed, Garden & Supply, Robertsdale Auto Parts Inc NAPA, Robertsdale Feed, Seed & Supply, Joe Stough, Southern Auto Recovery, Southern Kitchen Design, Dennis & Joan Stastka, Stimupro LLC, Sun South and Wolf Bay Lodge.